Review of The Social Network | CDRogowski

The Social Network review

Today is the first day of my week-long look at some of the films of David Fincher and we’re starting with The Social NetworkTo me, TSN is one of those movies that you see, enjoy, but then never really feel the need to see again. Although I enjoy both the story and the technical aspects of the film, it just feels like a strange cross between a documentary and a morality tale. The movie follows the creation and evolution of Facebook.com and the changes made in leadership along the way from inception to the point of over 1,000,000 users. I would recommend this movie to anyone who hasn’t seen it yet and who is interested in the tech boom, Silicone Valley, or in being an entrepreneur. Now we get to get into the parts that I feel is interesting, the film techniques.

the social network boardroom

One aspect of TSN that jumped out to me almost immediately and was fun to pay close attention to throughout my viewing was the fact that the movie seems to be almost in grey scale. Most of the clothing, furniture, rooms, and even surroundings throughout the film are all different shades of grey. The reason this was interesting to me is because with such a neutral color being dominant, the lighting throughout the movie was especially effective. Also, when the mood needed to be changed, a simple colored filter works wonders when the entire scene is grey.

Andrew Garfield in The Social Network

Another style choice I liked in The Social Network was the choice to center the subject in most close ups. I think the reason this stood out to me is because I am coming off of a week of watching Coen brother’s films and this is a stylistic choice that they make in nearly every film. I, personally, like having the face of the character centered as I feel that, although many film experts will say that a centered shot is less interesting to the eye, there is a connection that can be achieved through centering the subject in the frame that is missing in the rule of thirds placement of people.

Leave a Reply

